European Press Prize for Journalists

European Press Prize for Journalists


  • Any journalist that works in or is from Europe is eligible to compete in the European Press Prize.

  • The articles can be in any language but should be accompanied by a synopsis in English (250 words maximum), explaining the theme of the article(s), together with an assessment of its impact and reception. If you need assistance with writing this in English, please reach out to us at


    There are five different categories in which journalists can send in their work: Investigative Reporting, Distinguished Reporting, Public Discourse, Innovation and Migration Journalism. You can read more about the categories by clicking on this link

    Each year on October 1st, a button will become available on our website that brings you to our entry form. Please submit your article here and fill in the form.


  • Articles cannot exceed 5,000 words.

  • For authors submitting articles for the Investigative Reporting Award, Distinguished Reporting Award, Innovation Award and Migration Journalism Award only one article may be submitted per author.

  • For the Public Discourse Award, up to three articles may be submitted per author.

  • For the 2024 edition of the European Press Prize, the publication date should be between December 1, 2022 and December 31, 2023.

    Terms and Conditions

    Please make sure to read the Terms and Conditions carefully before submitting your work. These include important information about the copyright and republication of your work, amongst other things.


    After the entries have come in, they will be assessed and sifted through by the Preparatory Committee, consulting widely.

    The Preparatory Committee’s choices and the resulting shortlists will be published on the European Press Prize website. All shortlisted journalists will be asked to attend the ceremony where the
    winners will be announced.

    The Panel of Judges makes the final selection of winners and chooses the recipient of the Special Award. The winners will be announced during the Ceremony in May or June.

    The following rules are adhered to during the judging process:

  • PrepCom and judges cannot enter the contest in the year they are judging.

  • Each PrepCom / judge, whether an ordinary member or chair, has one equal vote.

  • All proceedings and deliberations of each jury are conducted in confidence.

  • If PrepCom members or judges recognise they are personally involved in submitted work, through either a personal or professional relationship, for instance when working for the same organisation, they must declare their interest openly at the beginning of any discussions on the work and withhold their vote.

  • The laureates will be announced in two stages. First of all, nominees in all categories will be announced. Secondly, the winners in all categories, including the Special Award will be announced at the award ceremony.

  • The chair of the PrepCom will sit in at the Judges’ meeting to elaborate on the year’s entries and choices made by PrepCom. The chair of the PrepCom does not hold a formal vote during the meeting of judges.

    How to Apply

    For more information and job application details, see; European Press Prize for Journalists

    List of All Current Scholarships for International Students - Updated Daily - Apply Today! Click Here!

    Funding Agencies for Grants - Search Funding Agencies for Grants? - NGO Funding Agencies - Fill Out a Simple Grant Form? - NGO Grant Funding Agencies

    Scholarships for Study in Africa » Scholarships for African Students » Undergraduate Scholarships » African Women Scholarships & Grants » Developing Countries Scholarships » Erasmus Mundus Scholarships for Developing Countries

  • Click here to post comments

    Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to 3 Best Africa Jobs.