Columbia Journalism School Maria Moors Cabot Prizes

Columbia Journalism School Maria Moors Cabot Prizes

The Columbia Journalism School is now accepting nominations for the 2023 Maria Moors Cabot Prizes to journalists who, in their work and throughout their careers, have contributed to promoting greater Inter-American understanding and relations on the American continent.

The Maria Moors Cabot Prizes are the oldest international awards in journalism and were founded in 1938. The prizes recognize journalists and news organizations with a distinguished body of work that has contributed to Inter­-American understanding.


The honorees are announced in the summer and will receive a Cabot medal and $5,000 honorarium.

What does the Cabot Board look for?

The Cabot Prizes Board looks for exceptional and courageous reporting that impacts society, and evidence of commitment to important stories over the course of a long and distinguished career.

They are particularly interested in hearing about journalists and news organizations that have made a sustained contribution to Inter-­American understanding through their coverage of the Americas. The board also seeks to honor journalists who have taken active roles in upholding freedom of the press in the Americas.

Although awards have been given to publishers and other managers, the board is especially interested in honoring individual journalists.


  • Supported document types include .doc, .docx, .pdf, .rtf, .jpg, .xls. Supporting digital presentations can be sent as links.

  • Please upload each of the following items and provide working links for digital presentations:

  • Nominee’s biography and/or CV listing education, journalistic experience and public service, with dates.

  • A statement or nomination letter describing how the nominee has contributed towards international understanding in the Western Hemisphere.

  • Career highlights, examples of work:
    At least five but no more than ten (without prior authorization) print articles, books, television or radio programs or online stories that best represent the nominee’s career, or body of work. Curate the stories or reporting that shows strengths over time.

  • Please provide working direct links to any media.
    Individuals may nominate themselves.

  • Nominations must be signed by the person submitting it.

  • One to three letters from third parties that explain why the nominee is especially deserving of the prize are also welcome. Supporting material such as books will not be returned.

    Eligibility Criteria

  • Any journalist and/or news executive who works for any news organization based in the Western Hemisphere or any press association or news service that serves such an organization;

  • Other individuals, including freelance journalists, with a long record of reporting on the region;

  • All media platforms, including online publications.

  • The Cabot Prizes Board, composed of journalists and educators concerned with hemisphere affairs, will judge the entries. The Trustees of Columbia University, on the recommendation of the dean, will choose the winners. Special citations may also be awarded.

    How to Apply

    For more information and job application details, see; Columbia Journalism School Maria Moors Cabot Prizes

    List of All Current Scholarships for International Students - Updated Daily - Apply Today! Click Here!

    Funding Agencies for Grants - Search Funding Agencies for Grants? - NGO Funding Agencies - Fill Out a Simple Grant Form? - NGO Grant Funding Agencies

    Scholarships for Study in Africa » Scholarships for African Students » Undergraduate Scholarships » African Women Scholarships & Grants » Developing Countries Scholarships » Erasmus Mundus Scholarships for Developing Countries

  • Click here to post comments

    Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to 2 Best Africa Jobs.