African Fact-checking Awards for Journalistic Excellence in Africa

African Fact-checking Awards for Journalistic Excellence in Africa

Applications are now open for the 2024 African Fact-Checking Awards. The African Fact-Checking Awards, the longest-running awards programme honouring fact-checking journalism by the media in Africa, are in their eleventh year.


  • Entries for the 2024 awards are now open to journalists, journalism students, and professional fact-checkers – across the continent.

  • To qualify, entries must have been first published or broadcast in the period from 1 July 2023 to 14 July 2024. The fact-check should conclude that a claim about an important topic, originating in or relevant to Africa, is either misleading or wrong.

    To be eligible, entries for this competition must:

  • Be the original work of the individual or team identified in the entry form as the author.

  • Expose a claim on an important topic that originated in or is relevant to Africa as misleading or wrong.

  • Be an original piece of fact-checking journalism first published or broadcast on any date from 1 July 2023 to 14 July 2024.

  • Be received by the organisers before midnight GMT on 14 July 2023. Late entries will not be accepted.

  • Be received by the organisers via the official entry form. No other means of sending in entries is allowed.

  • Fact-checks can be published/broadcast in any language, but entry forms must be completed in either English or French. However, should the fact-checking report not be in English or French, a written translation must be submitted with the entry.

  • By submitting an entry, the entrant confirms that they are the authors of the work, and that in the case of any dispute about this, this is entirely the entrant’s responsibility

  • Reports published by Africa Check are not eligible for the competition.

  • Judges
    reserve the right to move an entry from one category to another.

  • Candidates can only enter for the awards in one category per year, but can submit more than one report if they choose.

  • Should the entrant win a prize in the awards, we will send the money to a bank account to be nominated by them.

  • At the shortlisting stage a representative of the jury may seek clarification on some points.

  • Entrants who are found to be unethical about any aspect related to their entry will be disqualified.

  • Entrants must agree to do media interviews and/or reports about the awards if they win.

  • Entrants for the awards must agree to accept the judges’ decision as final.


    The awards have three categories, with honours going to a winner and a runner-up. The categories are:

  • Fact-Check of the Year by a Working Journalist

  • Fact-Check of the Year by a Professional Fact-Checker

  • Fact-Check of the Year by a Student Journalist


  • The winners of the working journalist and professional fact-checker categories will each get a prize of US$3,000.

  • The runners-up will receive $1,500. The winner of the student journalist category will be awarded $2,000, and the runner-up $1,000.

    How to Apply

    For more information and job application details, see; African Fact-checking Awards for Journalistic Excellence in Africa

    List of All Current Scholarships for International Students - Updated Daily - Apply Today! Click Here!

    Funding Agencies for Grants - Search Funding Agencies for Grants? - NGO Funding Agencies - Fill Out a Simple Grant Form? - NGO Grant Funding Agencies

    Scholarships for Study in Africa » Scholarships for African Students » Undergraduate Scholarships » African Women Scholarships & Grants » Developing Countries Scholarships » Erasmus Mundus Scholarships for Developing Countries

  • Click here to post comments

    Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Africa Jobs.