AAAS Award for Scientific Freedom and Responsibility

AAAS Award for Scientific Freedom and Responsibility

The Award

The AAAS Award for Scientific Freedom and Responsibility is presented by the American Association for the Advancement of Science to honor organizations or individuals (including but not limited to scientists, engineers, or health professionals) who have advanced scientific freedom and responsibility under challenging circumstances.

Their exemplary actions advance trustworthy science – science that is conducted and communicated responsibly, upholding the values of scientific freedom and human rights, including the right of everyone to enjoy the benefits of scientific progress.

Scientific freedom and responsibility are defined by the AAAS Statement on Scientific Freedom and Responsibility as:

Scientific freedom and scientific responsibility are essential to the advancement of human knowledge for the benefit of all. Scientific freedom is the freedom to engage in scientific inquiry, pursue and apply knowledge, and communicate openly.

This freedom is inextricably linked to and must be exercised in accordance with scientific responsibility. Scientific responsibility is the duty to conduct and apply science with integrity, in the interest of humanity, in a spirit of stewardship for the environment, and with respect for human rights.

The types of actions recognized by this award include:

  • Acting to protect the public's health, safety or welfare;

  • Focusing public attention on important potential impacts of science and technology on society;

  • Providing an exemplary model for responsible scientist-community collaborations that advance justice and the right of everyone to enjoy the benefits of scientific progress;

  • Defending the human rights and professional freedom of scientists and engineers under threat;

  • Using scientific tools and expertise to promote justice and accountability for grave violations of human rights.

    Past winners have included:

  • Ricardo Galvão, who lost his job because of his efforts to protect the welfare of the people of Brazil and the Amazon rainforest;

  • Erin Kimmerle, a forensic anthropologist whose team found the unmarked graves of dozens of children buried at a notorious Florida reform school;

  • Dr. Ronald W. Jones, who helped blow the whistle on an unethical experiment and spent decades defending patients’ rights and scientific integrity;

  • Dr. Peter Hotez, for his work with scientists and communities to develop and distribute safe, effective, and affordable vaccines against neglected diseases, and advocacy for vaccine science.

  • While many of the past winners of this recognition are individuals, we recognize that the actions this award seeks to honor often come about because of the actions
    of many people: members of affected communities; students and early career researchers; human rights and environmental justice activists; and more. For this reason, we encourage a wide variety of organizations and individuals to seek nomination (or nominate themselves) for this award.

    The AAAS Award for Scientific Freedom and Responsibility was established in 1980 by the AAAS Board of Directors. Each year, a multidisciplinary selection committee reviews and deliberates on all submitted nomination materials and additional documentation, as appropriate. The committee’s recommendation, together with relevant materials, is presented to the Board of Directors for final consideration and approval.

    This award consists of a prize of $5,000, a commemorative plaque, complimentary registration, and reimbursement for travel and hotel expenses to attend the AAAS Annual Meeting.


  • Nominations may be made by anyone. Self-nominations are accepted for this award.

  • Nominations may be received for U.S. and non-U.S. individuals and for organizations, for a specific action, for a series of related actions, or for a career-long record of action.

    Nomination Procedures

    Nominations are made by the completion of a standard form available online. The form requests the following information:

  • Name and address of the nominated individual or organization;

  • Name and address of the nominator;

  • A brief statement (no more than 300 words) describing the action of the nominee which is proposed for recognition;

  • General background information, including a vita (if applicable), links to press or other articles relevant to the nomination (not to exceed three pages);

  • A list of three references. The references should be familiar with the actions of the nominee which have been proposed for recognition; and
    Given that the review of nominations may require reference checks and discussions about controversial matters, the consent of the individual or organization to be considered for the award should be obtained by the nominator and recorded in the nomination packet.

    How to Apply

    For more information and job application details, see; AAAS Award for Scientific Freedom and Responsibility

    List of All Current Scholarships for International Students - Updated Daily - Apply Today! Click Here!

    Funding Agencies for Grants - Search Funding Agencies for Grants? - NGO Funding Agencies - Fill Out a Simple Grant Form? - NGO Grant Funding Agencies

    Scholarships for Study in Africa » Scholarships for African Students » Undergraduate Scholarships » African Women Scholarships & Grants » Developing Countries Scholarships » Erasmus Mundus Scholarships for Developing Countries

  • Click here to post comments

    Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to 3 Best Africa Jobs.