World Habitat Awards

Non Profit Grants » Funding for Organisations » Individual Awards

World Habitat Awards: Individuals, organizations and governmental agencies with innovative and practical solution to housing needs and problems from any country of the world can apply for the World Habitat Awards.

The awards are given annually to projects that provide practical and innovative solutions to current housing needs and problems, from the global South as well as the North.

Two winners are selected and awarded with a prize each carrying an amount of £10,000. The award is presented at annual United Nations global celebration of World Habitat Day.

Awards Application Eligibility Criteria:

Projects & approaches are sought that:

  • Demonstrate practical, innovative and sustainable solutions to current housing issues faced by countries of the global South as well as the North.

  • Can be transferred or adapted for use as appropriate.

  • View the term habitat from a broad perspective and bring other benefits as well, such as energy or water saving, income generation, social inclusion, community and individual empowerment, capacity building or education.

    The World Habitat Awards competition has a two-stage entry process:

    Stage I: submissions need only comprise a summary of the key aspects of the project. From these preliminary submissions, ten projects are selected by an Assessment Committee to go forward to Stage II of the competition.

    Stage II: submissions are evaluated by an independent advisory group before being put to a panel of international judges, which include the Executive Director of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-HABITAT) and the Rector of the United Nations University, Tokyo. Evaluation visits are carried out to some of the projects prior to the final judging."

    Application deadline: 1 November.

    For further details and application, see: World Habitat Awards Website

    More: Individuals Awards » Organizations Awards » Governmental Agencies Awards