The annual Convocation Awards

The annual Convocation Awards honour those alumni who personify the University of KwaZulu-Natal's mission to achieve excellence, thereby bringing distinction to themselves and their alma mater through their outstanding accomplishments.

The categories for the five Convocation Awards are:

  • Award for outstanding contribution to Agriculture, Engineering and Science

  • Award for outstanding contribution to Health Sciences

  • Award for outstanding contribution to Humanities

  • Award for outstanding contribution to Law and Management Studies

  • Special Award for a graduate and employee of the University of KwaZulu-Natal who has contributed significantly to the field of work engaged in at the University of KwaZulu-Natal

    The University of KwaZulu-Natal is proud to honour its alumni with these Awards and is asking for your help in continuing the tradition.

    The university therefore invite you to identify and nominate worthy individuals for the Convocation Awards.

    The Awards will be presented at a ceremony which will take place in March.

    Criteria to be met by nominees for all Awards are as follows:

  • The nominee must be a graduate of the University of KwaZulu-Natal (this includes graduates of the former Universities of Natal and Durban-Westville).

  • The nominee should personify the University's tradition of excellence.

  • The nominee should be recognised by his/her peers.

  • The nominee should have made an outstanding contribution to his/her own particular field.

  • Honorary graduates and members of staff are not eligible; except in the case of the Special Award category.

    Deadline: 31st December

    For more information and application, visit: The annual Convocation Awards Website

  • Scholarship 2018/19

    Undergraduate Scholarships,
    Masters Scholarships,
    PhD Scholarships,
    International Scholarships.