The Harriet Tubman Award

This award will be given to a community-based organization that is demonstrating how slavery can be dismantled and destroyed.

This organization will be working to prevent and eliminate slavery, bringing survivors to lasting freedom.

The Harriet Tubman Award will go to an organization working within communities to make the most significant and transformative contribution to ending slavery.


The Winning Organization Will Receive:

  • A grant of $25,000 a year for two years.

  • A technical assistance package worth $15,000 a year for two years.

  • A tour to share experiences with relevant organizations.

  • A short documentary film produced by Free the Slaves about the anti-slavery activities and work of the organization.

    Eligibility Requirements:

    Organizations in any part of the world are eligible for nomination for these awards.

    Organizations must be:

  • Operating for at least three years.

  • Locally-managed organization.

  • Registered as a Society or Charity in the country of operation and legally able to receive funds from overseas.

  • Operating in a way that seeks to overcome all forms of discrimination and enable everyone to achieve their potential and define their own purpose in life.

  • Willing to show most recent year of audited accounts and have systems in place to account responsibly for funds received.

  • Enthusiastic about sharing their work experiences with others and participating in the global anti-slavery movement.

  • If selected, able to send two representatives to the awards ceremony in the U.S. for the Freedom Awards Ceremony (we will cover agreed travel costs and assist with obtaining travel documents).

  • Be willing for Free the Slaves to visit to film a short documentary video about the group's current anti-slavery activities, within one month of confirmation of the award.

  • Allow us to use information provided in the nomination form to raise awareness about the group’s current anti-slavery activities.

  • Strongly rooted in the area where they work, and emerging from within the context of the region.

  • International development organizations managing and directly running local projects with their own staff are not eligible.

  • Such organizations are encouraged to nominate locally-managed and initiated projects, employing local people, including those that they help to fund and support.

    Deadline: 2nd November

    For more information and application, visit: The Harriet Tubman Award Website

  • Scholarship 2018/19

    Undergraduate Scholarships,
    Masters Scholarships,
    PhD Scholarships,
    International Scholarships.