The Frederick Douglass Award

This award will be given to an individual who has survived a form of slavery and is now using his or her life in freedom to help others exercise the purpose of their lives.

This award will honor the tremendous resilience of the human spirit and emphasize that many survivors of modern-day slavery go on to help others to freedom.


The Recipient Will Receive:

  • $10,000 for a program of training and capacity building to continue and expand his or her work.

  • $10,000 to be awarded over two years, and used as he or she feels appropriate.

    Award Criteria:

    The Frederick Douglass Award will be given to an individual survivor of slavery whose current life and work most clearly shows:

  • Active care and compassionate initiative toward other people in need (in slavery or another kind of human need).

  • Determination to seek out their own purpose in life and decide on his or her own actions.

  • Ability to cope with and overcome challenges.

  • Integrity between his or her beliefs, ideas, and practical activities.

    Eligibility Requirements:

    Individuals in any part of the world are eligible to be nominated.

    They must:

  • Be at least 18 years old

  • Have been in a form of slavery for at least several months

  • Have shown consistent commitment and activity toward helping others, once living in freedom

  • Be willing for Free the Slaves to film a short documentary video, within one month of confirmation of the award

  • Be willing to travel to the USA for the Freedom Awards ceremony

  • Have been spoken to and informed of nominee status

  • Have verified the accuracy of information included in the nomination form

  • Be willing to speak about their life and their current work.

  • If selected, be willing for us to use information included in the nomination form to raise public awareness

    Deadline: 2nd November

    For more information and application, visit: The Frederick Douglass Award Website

  • Scholarship 2018/19

    Undergraduate Scholarships,
    Masters Scholarships,
    PhD Scholarships,
    International Scholarships.