TWAS Prizes for Young Scientists in Developing Countries

Enhance Your Chances of Securing Employment - Learn New Digital Skills - Register Now & Complete at Least 1 hour of Free Online Coursework Today & Get Google Certification!
AU-TWAS Young Scientist National Awards

The African Union and TWAS offer support for African countries to establish awards for young African scientists.

TWAS, the African Union (AU) and national ministries of science and technology are entering into partnerships with national science academies, scientific research councils and high-level research organizations in Africa to establish 'AU-TWAS Young Scientist National Awards’.

Deadline: 30 June 2015

Partner Organizations: African Union

Eligible Nominees: AU-TWAS countries

Field: None

Age limit: 40

The awards are designed to recognize scientific excellence in their countries. In each participating country, two USD5,000-prizes will be awarded each year in the categories of:

  • 'Life and earth sciences', and
  • 'Basic sciences, technology and innovation'.

    For African countries, this programme replaces the TWAS Prizes for Young Scientists in Developing Countries award scheme.


  • African organizations intending to award AU-TWAS Young Scientist National Awards in their respective countries are required to sign an agreement of collaboration with TWAS, the AU and their national ministry of science and technology that outlines the rules and regulations governing the scheme.The scheme is then managed by the participating organization while TWAS and the AU provide the prize money.
  • Candidates eligible for the prizes should be no older than forty years of age at the time of winning the prize; hold at least a Master's degree; have a good record of research publications in internationally recognized journals; be living and working in the country of the awarding organization for at least the previous three years.
  • Nominations of women scientists are particularly encouraged.
  • The closing date for nominations is 30 June each year: Africa Scientific Renaissance Day.

  • A committee of eminent scientists in the country — including TWAS members, where applicable — should be formed for selecting the prize winners. Names of committee members should be sent to TWAS for information.

  • The awarding organizations should send a complete profile of the selected nominees to TWAS, providing details on their achievements together with curriculum vitae and list of publications. Approval of TWAS and the AU is required before announcing the names of the winners.

  • The prize should be presented to the awardees by a high-ranking public figure (e.g., head of state/government, minister of science and technology) at a special ceremony held each year on 9 September: Africa Union Day.

    Participating Organizations

    To date, TWAS and the AU have signed agreements with ministries of science and technology and participating organizations in 14 countries. The participating organizations are:

  • Benin: Centre Beninois de la Recherche Scientifique et Technique (CBRST)
  • Burkina Faso: Centre Nationale de la Recherche Scientifique et Tecnologique (CNRST)
  • Cameroon: Cameroon Academy of Sciences
  • Egypt: Academy of Scientific Research and Technology (ASRT)
  • Ghana: Ghana Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • Guinea: Organisation Scientifique National de Stimulation de la Recherche en Guinee
  • Kenya: Directorate of Research Management and Development (DRMD), Kenya
  • Lesotho: Department of Science and Technology
  • Malawi: National Commission for Science and Technology
  • Nigeria: Nigerian Academy of Sciences
  • Senegal: National Academy of Science and Technology (ANSTS)
  • South Africa: Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf)
  • Sudan: Sudan Institute for Natural Sciences (SIFNS)
  • Zimbabwe: Zimbabwe Academy of Sciences

    This programme is for science academies, research councils or high-level research organizations in developing countries. For information about joining the scheme, please contact:

    AU-TWAS Young Scientist National Awards
    ICTP Campus
    Strada Costiera 11
    34151 Trieste
    Phone: +39 040 2240 387, +39 040 2240 662
    Fax: +39 040 2240 7387, +39 040 2240 7662

    Contact email: prize[email protected]

    For more information and application,visit: TWAS Prizes for Young Scientists in Developing Countries

  • 5000 Google Scholarships Available Today!

    Register now & complete at least 1 hour of online coursework today & get a free scholarship.

    Sign up for your training online with Google. Free course scholarships from Google.

    Google Official Courses 2018/19

    Scholarship 2018/19

    Undergraduate Scholarships,
    Masters Scholarships,
    PhD Scholarships,
    International Scholarships.