South African Film And Television Awards

The call for entries for the South African Film and Television Awards (SAFTAs) opened.

Only South African films or television productions/programmes that have been produced and publicly exhibited or broadcast between 1st April - 31st July are eligible for entry into the SAFTAs.

The SAFTAS is an industry initiative managed under the custodianship of the National Film and Video Foundation (NFVF) under whose values the essence of the awards are encapsulated those of Creativity, Freedom of expression, Entrepreneurship and Equitable redress; the broadcasters M-Net, ETV and SABC, distributors, Ster Kinekor and Nu Metro with industry practitioner representation.


  • The contest is open to all legal citizens and permanent residents of the Republic of South Africa.

  • Only South African film and television productions will be considered for the awards.

  • Co-productions with foreign partners shall only be eligible provided that the production has been certified as an Official Co-production and a South African film by the Competent Certification Authority in South Africa.

  • In the event that the majority and key components of a co-produced programme or film are foreign, the production will not be eligible for the overall ‘Best Production” category award.

  • Non South African talent and crew featured in or participating in the production of an eligible entry will be eligible for awards at the discretion of the SAFTA Judging Committee and will be verified by the SAFTA Committee.

  • Programs cancelled or discontinued during their transmission runs will not be eligible for entry.

  • Programs and individuals previously entered in any other National competition are eligible.

  • To be eligible for entry for the Awards film or television productions should have been produced and publicly exhibited or broadcast between the 1st April Friday 31st July

    Dealine: 31st July

    For more information and application, visit: South African Film And Television Awards Website

  • Scholarship 2018/19

    Undergraduate Scholarships,
    Masters Scholarships,
    PhD Scholarships,
    International Scholarships.