Muhr AsiaAfrica Awards

Enhance Your Chances of Securing Employment - Learn New Digital Skills - Register Now & Complete at Least 1 hour of Free Online Coursework Today & Get Google Certification!
The Dubai International Film Festival (hereafter referred to as “DIFF”) is a nonprofit cultural event that takes place annually in December in Dubai, United Arab Emirates.

DIFF aims at establishing itself as a major international festival, while continuing to act as a platform for showcasing excellence in Arab, Asian and African cinema and simultaneously contributing to the development and growth of the regional industry and talent.

The 2009 edition of DIFF will continue to present the Muhr AsiaAfrica Awards in three different categories: feature films, short films and documentary films.


  • Films must have been produced after September 1.
  • Films must not have been screened in the Gulf region for any audiences before DIFF.
  • With exceptions for films that have participated in the second edition of the Gulf Film Festival (“GFF”), films from outside of the Gulf region must be Gulf premieres and films from the Gulf region must be UAE premieres.
  • Until the end of DIFF, films must not have been broadcasted and/or made available on television, the internet, mobile phones and/or any other public viewing platform now known or thereafter devised.
  • Films must be directed by a filmmaker of AsianAfrican Nationality or Origin.
  • The subject and storyline of the film should be centered on the Asian or African world, Asian or African history and/or Asian or African culture.
  • Films that have been submitted to earlier editions of DIFF will not be considered.

    Award and Prize:

  • There will be 8 Muhr prizes awarded in the Feature Films category: Best Film - US$ 50,000; Special Jury Prize - US$ 40,000 where the cash prize will be awarded to the Director(s) of each film; Best Actor - US$ 8,000; Best Actress – US$ 8,000; Best Scriptwriter – US$ 8,000; Best Editor – US$ 8,000; Best Composer – US$ 8,000 and Best Cinematographer – US$ 8,000.

  • There will be three Muhr prizes in the Documentary Films category: First Prize - US$ 40,000; Special Jury Prize - US$ 30,000. Second Prize - US$ 20,000; the cash prize will be awarded to the Director(s) of each film.
  • There will be three Muhr prizes in the Short Films category: First Prize - US$ 30,000; Special Jury Prize - US$ 20,000. Second Prize - US$ 10,000; the cash prize will be awarded to the Director(s) of each film.

    Deadline: 31st August

    For more information and application, visit: Muhr AsiaAfrica Awards Website
  • 5000 Google Scholarships Available Today!

    Register now & complete at least 1 hour of online coursework today & get a free scholarship.

    Sign up for your training online with Google. Free course scholarships from Google.

    Google Official Courses 2018/19

    Scholarship 2018/19

    Undergraduate Scholarships,
    Masters Scholarships,
    PhD Scholarships,
    International Scholarships.