Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards

Scientific Awards » Women Awards » International Awards 

Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards: The African Union African Union Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards (AUKNSA) was launched to give out scientific awards to top African scientists for their scientific achievements and valuable discoveries and findings.

The African Union Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Award Programme shall be organized at three levels:

  • National;
  • Regional; and
  • Continental

    National Young Scientists Award:

    The Award is intended for young scientists both men and women; aged not more than forty (40) by 31 December of the year of organization of the Award.

    It shall be organized in each Member State of the African Union under the supervision of the Ministry in charge of Science and Technology and based on the signed agreement of between the Ministry in Charge of Science and Technology.

    The deadline for receipt of applications by the national office in charge shall be 30th of June 2 each year.

    The value of the AU-TWAS National Young Scientist Award shall be US$ 5,000 (Five thousand US Dollars) jointly conferred by the African Union Commission and TWAS for each scientific sector.

    Regional Scientific Award for Women:

    The competition shall be launched in each of the five African Union Geographical Regions on 9 September each year.

    The value of the African Union Women Scientists Regional Award shall be US$20,000 (Twenty thousand US Dollars for each scientific sector, conferred by the African Union Commission.

    The deadline for receipt of applications by the Regional Economic Communities responsible for the programme shall be 30 June each year.

    Continental Scientific Award:

    There will be no age limit to participate, and participation shall be open following a call to be announced by the AUC.

    Two winners will be selected from two different African Union member States.

    The Award conferment ceremony shall take place at an Ordinary Session of the Assembly of Heads of State and Government of the African Union held the year following the launch of the process.

    The value of the Continental Scientific Award shall be US$100,000 (One hundred thousand US Dollars for each scientific sector, conferred by the African Union Commission on the award winners in each sector.

    Award Application Eligibility Criteria:

  • African scientists who have remarkable achievements, demonstrated by number of publications, number of research graduate students, applicability of the scientific work to Africa's challenges, and its patentability.
  • Only nationals of the African Union (AU) Member States are eligible to participate in these Awards.
  • For the African Union Regional Scientific Award for Women, applicants should have at least ten (10) SCI publications.
  • For the Continental applicants should have at least twenty (20) SCI publications.

    Applicants may be excluded due to the following:

  • Their applications are not complete and/or all supporting document/s are not included or not attached.
  • If they received an African Union Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Award Programme in the past five years under this programme.
  • If their Member State is under AU sanctions in conformity with a decision taken by the AU relevant policy organ.
  • If they are employees of any an AU organ or employees of the Regional Economic Communities.
  • If Applications sent by fax or by e-mail or delivered to other addresses.

    For more information and scholarship applications, see: Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards


  • Scientific Awards » Women Awards » International Awards
  • African Union Research Grants
  • African Union Youth Volunteer Corps - Volunteer in Africa
  • Africa Union Scientific Awards
  • African Union Jobs
  • African Union Internships
  • African Union Scholarships
    Scholarships for African Students » Undergraduate Scholarships » African Women Scholarships & Grants » Developing Countries Scholarships » Erasmus Mundus Scholarships for Developing Countries » Fellowship Programs » Funding Grants for NGOs » Government Scholarships » LLM Scholarships » MBA Scholarships » PhD and Masters by Research Scholarships » Public Health Scholarships - MPH Scholarships » Refugees Scholarships » Research Grants » Scholarships and Grants

    Scholarships in Australia » Scholarships in Belgium » Scholarships in Canada » Scholarships in Germany » Scholarships in Italy » Scholarships in Japan » Scholarships in Korea » Scholarships in Netherlands » Scholarships in UK » Scholarships in USA

  • Scholarship 2020/21

    Undergraduate Scholarships 2019/2020
    Masters Scholarships,
    PhD Scholarships,
    International Scholarships.