Kurt Schork Awards in International Journalism 

Journalism Awards » Grants & Awards » International Awards

Kurt Schork Awards in International Journalism: Kurt Schork Awards for International Journalism honour the very best of freelance reporting and the commitment of local journalists who face every day risks in covering the news.

Named in honour of an American freelance journalist who was killed in a military ambush while on assignment for Reuters in Sierra Leone in 2000, the awards are made annually by the Kurt Schork Memorial Fund (KSMF).

There are two categories:

  • Freelance journalist covering international news
  • Local reporter covering events within their home country or region

    The winner in each category will receive a cash prize of US $5,000, presented at a ceremony in London in November.

    Each entrant can submit up to three reports published in any type of print-based media, including newspapers and magazines, or in established online publications. Blogs and personal websites are not eligible.

    Follow the links below for more details and application contacts.

    The deadline for submissions is 1 June every year.

    For more information and scholarship applications, see: Kurt Schork Awards in International Journalism

    More: Journalism Awards » Grants & Awards » International Awards

    African Scholarships » African Women Scholarships & Grants » Developing Countries Scholarships » Erasmus Mundus Scholarships for Developing Countries » Fellowship Programs » Funding Grants for NGOs » Government Scholarships » LLM Scholarships » MBA Scholarships » PhD and Masters by Research Scholarships » Public Health Scholarships - MPH Scholarships » Refugees Scholarships » Research Grants » Scholarships and Grants