TWAS-CNPq Postgraduate Fellowship Programme

The National Council for Scientific and Technological Development (CNPq), Brasilia, Brazil, and TWAS offer up to fifty fellowships per year to young scientists from developing countries (other than Brazil) who wish to pursue research leading towards a PhD in natural sciences.

TWAS-CNPq Postgraduate Fellowships are tenable at research institutions in Brazil for a period of up to four years and are awarded to students from developing countries (other than Brazil) to enable them to pursue studies leading towards a PhD degree in the natural sciences.

The academic year in Brazil usually begins on 1 March and the second semester in early August of each year.

Candidates will enrol for their PhD at the host institution and must observe the academic calendar of the host institution and be ready to start their Fellowship on the first day of classes/courses (most likely in Portuguese).

CNPq will provide a standard monthly allowance which should be used to cover living costs, such as accommodation, food and health insurance.

The monthly stipend will not be convertible into foreign currency.

Information about living conditions, such as possibilities of accommodation, transportation, and any other issues related to the candidate's stay in Brazil must be obtained locally, directly from the host institution.

The language of instruction is Portuguese for most institutions, and in a few institutions English.


Applicants for these fellowships must meet the following criteria:

  • Be a maximum age of 30 years on 31 December of the application year.

  • Be nationals of a developing country (other than Brazil.

  • Hold a Master's degree in a field of the natural sciences.

  • Provide an official acceptance letter from the host institution and be willing to register for a PhD degree in the natural sciences at a participating CAPES-listed Brazilian institution

  • Prove knowledge of Portuguese or provide a certificate of proficiency in Spanish or English (if these languages are not the candidate's mother tongue).
    Deadline: 1st August of each year.

    For more information and application, visit: TWAS-CNPq Postgraduate Fellowship Programme Website

    African Scholarships » Undergraduate Scholarships » African Women Scholarships & Grants » Developing Countries Scholarships » Erasmus Mundus Scholarships for Developing Countries » Fellowship Programs » Funding Grants for NGOs » Government Scholarships » LLM Scholarships » MBA Scholarships » PhD and Masters by Research Scholarships » Public Health Scholarships - MPH Scholarships » Refugees Scholarships » Research Grants » Scholarships and Grants

  • Scholarship 2018/19

    Undergraduate Scholarships,
    Masters Scholarships,
    PhD Scholarships,
    International Scholarships.